#### CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the **General Appeals Sub Committee** held on Tuesday, 14th September, 2021 at Committee Suite 1,2 & 3, Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach CW11 1HZ

### **PRESENT**

Councillor S Edgar (Chair)
Councillor A Harewood
Councillor D Murphy

### **OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE**

Neil Roberts, Accessibility Officer, Transport Policy Susan Kenyon, Solicitor, Adults and Education, People Team Karen Shuker, Democratic Services

### **OFFICERS ALSO IN ATTENDANCE**

Joanne Bowkett, Admissions, Transport and Fair Access Team Manager (Observer)
lan Marshall, Operations Support Manager, Transport (Observer)

# 7 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR

#### **RESOLVED**

That Councillor S Edgar be appointed as Chair of the meeting.

## 8 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies for absence.

### 9 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

# 10 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

There were no members of the public present.

## 11 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

## **RESOLVED**

That the press and public be excluded from the virtual meeting during consideration of the following item pursuant to Section 100(A)4 of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended on the grounds that it involves

the likely discussion of exempt information as defined in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing the information.

## 12 SCHOOL TRANSPORT APPEAL

# Case one

The Sub-Committee considered an appeal against a decision of the Council not to offer assisted school transport.

The Sub-Committee heard the appeal based on the written and oral evidence of the Presenting Officer, who detailed the local authority's case, and the written and oral evidence of the Appellants. Members of the Sub-Committee asked questions by way of clarification.

The Presenting Officer and the appellant withdrew from the meeting, following which the Sub-Committee reached its decision.

### **RESOLVED**

That the appeal be dismissed.

The meeting commenced at 10.00 am and concluded at 11.23 am

Councillor S Edgar (Chair)